May Jewellery Making Challenge Day 6 & Off Up the Lane !

Yesterday I made this riveted dichroic glass pendant – Spicy Olive

Dichroic glass & silver pendant handmade Olive

Spicy Olive

I fused this cab a little while ago, it’s a mixture of clear olive and dichroic glass – very sparkly, yesterday I finally had time to make it into a pendant.  Most fused glass jewellery seems to be glued to commercial silver plated findings which seems such a shame when the glass is so beautiful it deserves something better.

In one of our workshops I teach students to make simple but really nice solid silver bails to take their fused glass and a while ago I started riveting my glass to make pendants and rings.  I made the bail for this pendant out of silver sheet, stamped for interest and drilled.  Drilling the glass is always the scary bit, it takes patience and you have to remember not to rush it.  I then riveted the glass and bail so that the glass can still move then put it on a simple rubber thong.

I haven’t put this piece on our website and it may still be available when you read this – On a thong for £18 plus £1.50 postage or on a silver chain for £24.50 including postage.

If you like this piece why not have a look at the workshops we run or contact me if you would like to arrange a glass fusing or riveting jewellery making break.

Off Up the Lane
When La Vidalerie was built (around 300 years ago) the entrance was a gateway from the lane into the enclosed courtyard with the front of the house overlooking the spectacular valley.  Many years later a new road was built behind the house and everything got turned around and the back of the house became the front.  This means that in front of the house there is a lovely overgrown lane, this is where I spent my afternoon – chasing Snowflake up and down the lane !  We have 6 cats, 5 of them ginger, rescue cats and Snowflake is one of these – gorgeous long hair and a personality that knows how beautiful he is.  All I have seen all afternoon is his magnificent long tail sticking straight up in the air and just out of reach – well I needed the excercise 😉

 

Leave a Reply

