Day 8 Challenge Long Earrings and Empty Attics

I do make a lot of earrings but then you just can’t have too many pairs ! Yesterday I made these long and dangly earrings – very easy to wear and they move and swing and wiggle so well.

Long Dangly Handmade Silver Earrings

Super Long

If you fancy making a pair all you need to do is make some figure of eights in silver wire and leave the end about 1cm long, use your micro torch to ball the ends of the wires and then hammer them slightly.  Join the 8’s together and hang them from handmade silver ear wires (if you’ve met me you’ll know I have a horror of mass produced ear wires).  And if you don’t want to make your own you can always order a pair from me 😉

Empty Attics !
Before making the earring Tim and I went off to St Geniez d’Olt, our local village

St Geniez d'Olt

The walk along the River Lot at St Geniez d’Olt

where they were holding a Vide-Grenier, literally empty attic, at bit like a car boot sale but not cars and a bit more weird and interesting, here’s a few things we saw…

Vide Grenier

Typical Vide-Grenier fare – Odds Sods and Everything Inbetween

Ancient Hot Water Bottles

Ancient metal hot water bottles (I have one of these 😉

Chestnut roasters

I thought these were bed warmers when I first came to the Aveyron but they are chestnut roasters and you see them everywhere (and yes I have one of these too !)

May Jewellery Making Challenge  – I made myself a challenge this month to make a piece of jewellery every day and blog about it – follow my blog to receive automatic updates.

 

 

Leave a Reply

