Days 14 – 17 and Another GiveAway or Two !

Well things just got away from me this week so I’m a little behind with my challenge.  The last week’s workshop was a little hectic with lots of wonderful jewellery being made.

Jewellery making workshop photo

Just some of Evelyn, Rebecca and Aileen’s work

I’ll be posting more photos of their jewellery on our FaceBook page during the week – http://www.facebook.com/la.vidalerie.jewellery.making.holidays

Day 14 Jewellery Making Challenge
One of the days workshops projects was wire rings, as well as making aluminium swirl rings and wrapped bead rings we planned and made a copper and bead ring ring based on an ancient design – this is the one I made.
Ancient bead ring design
This is a fun ring to make, we used 1.6mm copper wire and a bead that was about the same width as your finger which was wired to the ring with 0.8mm wire.  Don’t you just love olive coloured glass ?

Day 15 Jewellery Making Challenge
Aileen joined Evelyn and Rebecca for a noisy day of fold forming, riveting & wrapped sea glass pendants.  Lots of hammering resulted in some fabulous silver & copper fold formed earrings and we made copper bangles with handmade silver rivets (the students made and added lots of stamped copper charms to theirs).

Handmade Riveted copper bangle

Riveted Copper Bangle

I have these in copper and bronze for sale on my website – just click on the photo above.  We finished the day with wire wrapped sea glass pendants – you can see one of these in the composite picture at the top of today’s post.

Day 16 Jewellery Making Challenge & a GiveAway
Today was the day we said goodbye to Evelyn and Rebecca and took them into Rodez for their connections.  Rebecca’s flight was in the afternoon giving us chance to visit the bead shop, I bought some ceramic beads and made this when I got home.

Silk & ceramic wrap bracelet

Silk & Ceramic Wrap Bracelet

I took a large ceramic flower bead, tied a large knot in a lovely deep pink silk thong and threaded the thong through the flower then knotted these lovely pink and white beads to the ends of the silk.  I made some silver balled end head pins and made some Swarovski bicone dangles which I put onto silver jump rings and knotted in place onto the silk to add a bit of sparkle.  You just wrap the silk around your wrist and either tie or tuck the ends in – lovely colours just in time for summer !  
GIVEAWAY DRAW – 
Just add a comment to this post to be included in the draw – make sure you put “wrap” at the beginning of your comment so I know which draw you are entering.

Day 17 Jewellery Making Challenge & Another GiveAway
Today’s make was a quickie, a message from one of our students reminded me that I had some 0.8mm sterling silver beaded wire (this is silver wire that looks like it has lots of round beads threaded on to it but is actually solid wire).  As you may know ear wires should be made out of 0.8 wire and I wondered if this beaded wire might make some interesting hoops – and here they are.

tiny silver handmade hoops

Tiny Daisy Hoops

These are tiny hoops, about 1.5cm across, I just made a small loop at one end of the wire, rubbed down the other end (so it doesn’t scratch your ear) and made a small bend then roughly made the wire into a circle and slipped then bend into the loop and pulled the hoop over my ring stick and gently hammered (whilst avoiding the loop and bend) to make the hoops harder.  The daisies are made from little silver spacers (sometimes called snowflake spacers) which I hammered a little flatter and suddenly they looked like daisies.

The hoops are a little soft (after all the beaded wire is less than 0.8 between the “beads”) but very cute.
GIVEAWAY DRAW –  If you would like to win a pair just add your comment to the bottom of this post  – make sure you put “hoop” at the beginning of your comment so I know which draw you are entering (please feel free to enter both).

Draws end midnight Monday (19th May), hopefully I will be on time with tomorrows post 😉

 

15 responses to “Days 14 – 17 and Another GiveAway or Two !

  1. Loving all the stuff you’ve made so can I bee entered for both? If I say “wrap” and” hoop”, will that work? I especially really love the silk wrap ceramic bracelet though! Given me lots of ideas. It could easily be done with Button’s too couldn’t it? Love the blog Karen!! X

  2. Hello Karen Wrap and Hoop! I love your designs thank you for sharing. My dream is that one day I will be able to attend one of your workshops and I adore France 😃

  3. Catherine Perryman

    Hi Karen, wrap and hoop, just love all you do, I am hoping that perhaps my hubby will one day suprise me with one of your workshops. such beautiful pieces, keep up the good work. Cathy

  4. Daniela Bennett

    Both are beautiful as is all your other jewellery. Love both and would like to enter draws. Maybe one day I am able to treat myself to one of your holidays, they look fab! X daniela

  5. Please can I be in the draw? Thank you

  6. Ulrika Punjabi

    Hi Karen. Wrap & hoop, please. Both are absolutely gorgeous and so wearable for all different kind of occasions. Thank you. 😊

  7. Winners – Congratulations to Beadtherapygirl for the ceramic wrap and Catherine Perryman for the silver daisy hoops – We use random.org to pick the winners – I wish everyone could win but keep checking back (or follow us for automatic updates) for more giveaways !

  8. Yay!!!! Hi Karen I am thrilled, the wrap looks so gorgeous. I bet it will be even better in person 😃. Will I email you my address or I could pm you on Facebook? Best wishes Gillian

Leave a Reply

