Day 26 – Weird and a Little Bit Creepy ?

I had the face left over from yesterday’s make and wanted to see if it could become part of a pair of earrings…

Handmade tin earrings Peeking

I’m going to call these “Peeking” 🙂

I cut the tin face in half with shears and cut 2 rectangles of copper…
How to make copper & tin box earrings
The copper  textured by hammering wire onto the copper, it give quite an organic texture, I then coloured the copper with the torch flame (but you could use liver of sulphur) and slightly sanded the high spots.

I then drilled holes in the tin and copper and riveted the tin faces onto the copper sheets with silver wire rivets.

Back of riveted earrings

Backs of earrings – you can see the silver rivets.

I added handmade silver ear wires (similar to yesterdays) et voila !

Handmade tin, copper & silver riveted earrings

Handmade tin, copper & silver riveted earrings

Certainly one of a kind, unusual earrings!  I’m selling these for £12.

May Make Challenge – I’ve challenged myself to make a piece of jewellery every day in May and post about it  – follow my blog to see the next installment !

 

Leave a Reply

