Day 28 – Ginger Cat Glass & Living in the Clouds

Yesterday I did some glass fusing, just simple stuff in preparation to Chris and Annie’s arrival tomorrow for our next workshop.   Here are a pair of the earrings I  made.Fused Glass Earrings

White & Teal Fused Glass on Silver Ear Wires

Here they are pre-fusing along with a whole lot of friends (along with my notes on the kiln paper 😉
Glass pre firing

 

I cut 3mm white glass into square and added teal coloured confetti (very thin glass that you can break with your fingers).  Once fused I drilled the glass and hung them on handmade balled sterling silver ear wires.

I’m not sure if I’m going to list my fused glass on our website so I’m starting a separate Dawanda shop – Ginger Cat Glass –  which should be up and running in a week or so – In the meantime you can buy these earrings for £15 by contacting me – they come in a cute Ginger Cat Glass tin.

Glass Fusing Workshop – Chris and Annie are coming for our Glass Fusing – Making Fused Glass Jewellery workshop.  This workshop has two parts, the mornings are spent cutting and setting up glass for fusing and the afternoons making findings in silver for the glass (techniques used range from making simple silver bails and ring blanks for gluing onto the glass to riveting and setting depending on the students ideas and their experience).    I’ll post photos of their finished jewellery after the weekend.

Living in the clouds – This morning I woke up in the clouds (more further down)!  We’re at 750m and occasionally the clouds come down and see us, there are other mornings when you can look down into the valley and see the clouds below and when we drive down to the local village we drive down through the clouds and out the other side !  I will try and get phots next time.

Leave a Reply

