Day 2 – A Flowery Copper Ring and How I Made It

Yesterday I made this really cute flowery ring
Handmade flower copper ring

One off copper ring – Size N – £15 – Click the photo above to buy

Copper ring using rolling mill

It started off as sheet copper, I punched a piece of paper with a border punch (the photo shows two different border punched pieces).

IMG_0137

Copper rolled through rolling mill

I annealed the copper and put it through the rolling mill with the paper cutouts

How to make a copper ring with rolled texture

Then sawed the edge of the ring following the cutout scallop edge – the other pieces I might use for earrings

Good join ready for soldering

Good join ready for soldering

Handmade copper ring

And here’s the ring after pickling and polishing – I decided to use liver of sulphur after this to bring out the detail

Today I am turning these very ordinary copper washers…make earrings out of copper washers

into fabulous earrings.  Visit tomorrows blog to see how.

October Make & Show Challenge – This month I have set myself the challenge to make something and post about it everyday – follow my blog for automatic updates.  Some of the jewellery featured is available for sale here  – http://www.lavidalerie.com/BlogJewellery.html

2 responses to “Day 2 – A Flowery Copper Ring and How I Made It

  1. Very Pretty! I want a roller mill one day.

    • Hi Kathy – they are fab but if you get one I’d advise looking at the ones that have flat rollers the full width, I bought mine years ago and it had a small area that is flat and the sides have grooves to make square wire – I never use these and would find it more useful to have a wider flat area – Oh well 😉

Leave a Reply

