Dichroic Sparkles – Day 8

I spent yesterday  in Rodez, the capital city of the Aveyron, so didn’t have much time in the workshop.  So I though I would show you something a little different today.

handmade sterling silver ring blank for dichroic glass cab

Fused dichroic glass on handmade sterling silver ring blank

Handmade silver ring blank for glassI love glass fusing and have pencilled in tomorrow for catching up with drilling some glass I fused ages ago, so fingers crossed I’ll have lots more to show you in a couple of days.

Dichroic glass is very difficult to photograph as it changes colour according to the light as you can see from the two photos above.  As you may know I really don’t like mass produced silver plated findings and this let me to making my own sterling silver ring blanks – I feel that if you have made a beautiful piece of glass it deserves a good setting.

handmade ring blank silver artisan ring blank for fused glass silver handmade sterling silver ring for fused dichroic glass

Today I have been working on a new ring, a pair of super easy earrings and of course orders – Oh and a couple more pairs of Christmas earrings – holly this time so please join me tomorrow to see how they turned out .

If you like dichroic glass I run a 2 day/3 night and 3 day/4 night glass fusing workshop where you’ll also learn how to make your own silver & copper findings for your glass. http://www.lavidalerie.com/JewelleryMakingHolidaysandWorkshops.html

October Make & Show Challenge – This month I have set myself the challenge to make something and post about it everyday – follow my blog for automatic updates.  Some of the jewellery featured is available for sale here  – http://www.lavidalerie.com/BlogJewellery.html

Leave a Reply

