Winter Walks & Holly Earrings – Day 9

Walking Choo Choo every morning has made me much more aware of the changes in the countryside around me.  Although the leaves are still on the trees there is a definite hint of the winter to come and I wanted to make a pair of earrings about winter walks when all the trees are just branches and twigs.

Handmade silver earrings winter walks

Winter Walks Sterling Silver OOAK – £19

Straight out of the rolling mill - I used wires to make the design and to make sure they matched

Straight out of the rolling mill – I used wires to make the design and to make sure they matched

artisan winter silver earrings

Oxidized until black then sanded to give them a sanded finish whilst keeping the darker detail then hung on handmade silver ear wires.  I will make these again but due to the making process each pair will be OOAK and different

Yesterday I also made some new Holly Leaf earrings

Christmas Holly Earrings silver handmade

Holly Hooks – £9 Handmade in Sterling Silver – They arrive in a cute aluminium tin

If you’d like to make some similar earrings have a look at my holly leaf findings – just add ear wires –

handmade silver holly leaves artisan silver holly leaf findings

Something for Tomorrow

This is the ring I started making yesterday

Straight after soldering

Here it is all pickled and polished

Here it is all pickled and polishedToday I’m going to oxidize it and set a rose cut peridot into the tube in the middle

Today I’m going to oxidize it and set a rose cut peridot into the tube in the middle – Join me tomorrow and see how it turns out.

Texturing using a rolling mill can be included in our Silversmithing Workshops and tube setting stones in our Bezel Setting Workshop – just contact me if you’d like a brochure

October Make & Show Challenge – This month I have set myself the challenge to make something and post about it everyday – follow my blog for automatic updates.  Some of the jewellery featured is available for sale here  – http://www.lavidalerie.com/BlogJewellery.html

Leave a Reply

