Peridot Ring, Aubrac Grass Pendant & Walnuts – Day 10

Yesterday started off so well and then got better !  It started with Choo Choo’s walk when I found 12 walnuts fallen from our neighbours walnut tree – perfect for the dormice (more later).  Then I had an idea for a pendant which came out so much better than I could have hoped and setting the peridot in the day before’s ring went  well – if only all days were like this 😉

Aubrac Grass

artisan silver autumn grass pendant one of a kind handmade autumn grasses pendant silver ooak artisan

The Aubrac is a plateau high above us, it’s very wild and unspoilt and the home of many rare orchids.  The land is used for grazing in the summer when the cattle are taken up during the Transhumance in May (a very popular festival) and this is my idea of the grass there in the Autumn.  Made with the help of my rolling mill, each pendant will be different, there a little loops soldered to the back for the chain and I’ve oxidized it to bring out the detail of the design and texture.  I’ll be making a ring soon following a similar design (due the the making process each pendant and ring will be different).  This pendant is for sale on my website just click one of the photos.  I will be running workshops next year making this pendant and ring please contact me if you would like to be on the mailing list for them.

Peridot Ring

handmade silver peridot ring

Size Q and a half – £25

handmade silver peridot ring oxidized artisanThis is the ring I was making on Thursday – a hammered band with silver balls and tube soldered on and today I tube set a rose cut 3mm peridot (rather than having a flat table this cut is domed and faceted).  It’s oxidized and can be worn on it’s own or with stacker rings – I may be adding to this range soon.

Dormice & Walnuts

If you have seen my FB page you’ll know that we have 3 dormice, orphaned and saved from the cats.  I’ve been feeding them up with acorns, hazelnuts from our own trees and blackberries and today walnuts but they are not quite heavy enough to survive hibernation so it looks like they will be staying with us until the spring – they look like mini squirrels, grey with white bellies and fluffy tails – so cute !

All 3 fast asleep together

All 3 fast asleep together

Dormice1

Yesterday I did get some glass drilling done but didn’t have time to make the pieces into earrings – I will get some made today and show you tomorrow – Please drop by and see me again then.

Karen

October Make & Show Challenge – This month I have set myself the challenge to make something and post about it everyday – follow my blog for automatic updates.  Some of the jewellery featured is available for sale here  – http://www.lavidalerie.com/BlogJewellery.html 

Leave a Reply

