Oak Leaf Brooch – Step by Step – Day 13

Yesterday I used one of the oak leaves (see yesterdays blog) I found on my walk to texture this brooch

handmade copper oak leaf brooch

Copper & Silver brooch – 3.5 x 2cm – One of a Kind – £17  Oxidized to give it a softer glow and to bring out the detail of the leaf.

And here’s the step by step process of me making it.

step by step how to make a riveted brooch

I used my rolling mill to transfer the texture of one of the oak leaves onto a piece of copper – the other is textured with masking tape

I made the brooch using 2 pieces of copper because I wanted to stamp the back without spoiling the leaf texture on the front.

Brooch findings ready to be soldered onto the back of the brooch

Brooch findings ready to be soldered onto the back of the brooch

step by step how to make a riveted oak leaf brooch

Fine silver rivets – I taped the two pieces of copper together to keep them in place while I drilled the holes for the rivets

Tutorial = riveted brooch

Ready to be riveted

how to make a brooch - workshops in france

Riveted front

and back

and back

From little acorns brooch

The finished back complete with tiny letter – ” from little acorns…. ”  This is after pickling (without the stainless steel pin – I’ve done that before) and polishing and oxidizing.

Come and learn how to rivet and use a rolling mill for texture on one of our jewellery making workshops – whether you are a complete beginner or want to expand on your existing skills our very small classes ensure almost one to one tuition.

October Make & Show Challenge – This month I have set myself the challenge to make something and post about it everyday – follow my blog for automatic updates.  Some of the jewellery featured is available for sale here  – http://www.lavidalerie.com/BlogJewellery.html

Leave a comment