Irresistible Etching – Roses, Believe & a Cute Dragonfly – Day 28

Well I have to say my current love is silver etching.  It can still be a little hit and miss but so satisfying.  This is a ring I have wanted to make for a while, the resist is made out of vinyl and I made and soldered the ring before etching.

artisan etched silver ring believe

I could pretend I planned it this way but to be honest this ring ended up slightly more etched on one side than the other and so when I came to stretch the edges to give it its anticlastic shape it bent slightly more on the more etched side (hope that makes sense) but I think it make it even more unique 😉etched silver ring your words

This actual ring is size N to N.5 and is for sale at a reduced price of £25 due to it’s slight eccentricities. silver etched believe ringOtherwise you can order it though my website by clicking the photos above.

Your Words
Let me know if you would like something different etched and I’ll let you know if it’s possible.

Etched Roses
I also made a pair of earrings using nail art plates and nail varnish as the resist.

artisan etched silver earrings

etched silver earrings roses

Etched Roses – £20 including postage and they arrive in one of our cute aluminium tins.

I etched a sheet of silver, cut the earring to shape, sanded and curved them then soldered silver stud posts on the back so they just hang straight from your ears.  They are oxidized to give them a darker look and to bring out the detail of the roses.

Etched Dragonfly Charm
Most of the etching I have done so far has been applying my design as a resist, I made this charm by applying the surround to the design as a resist so the dragonfly was etched – I’m thinking about making a ring in the same way with dragonflies or butterflies.

etched dragonfly charm silver handmadeSilver dragonfly charm – £7 14mm x 10mm

Today I have a fab idea for a pair of earrings using riveting and old film – It could be great if it works !  Join me tomorrow and see.

October Make & Show Challenge – This month I have set myself the challenge to make something and post about it everyday – follow my blog for automatic updates.  Some of the jewellery featured is available for sale here  – http://www.lavidalerie.com/BlogJewellery.html

Leave a Reply

