Old Film + Copper Washers = Earrings ! Day 29 – Step by Step Earrings

Riveting, aren’t they 😉

Film8These earrings started off a couple of years ago when I went to a local vide grenier (literally translates as empty attic) a bit like a car boot sale without the cars.  Some vides are all broken Barbie dolls and action figures others very antiquey.  This one was in Estaing and included the little school selling off lots of very old school equipment.

step by step riveted earrings

Including this old film – Histoire de la Marine Francaise in the cutest box.  I had some copper washers…

...which I put through my rolling mill along with leaf skeletons for texture (the colour of the copper is due to annealing them with the torch before rolling).

…which I put through my rolling mill along with leaf skeletons for texture (the colour of the copper is due to annealing them with the torch before rolling).

I drilled holes for the rivets (the double holes on the top one were a mistake caused by rushing that I had to get over later)

I drilled holes for the rivets (the double holes on the top one were a mistake caused by rushing that I had to get over later)

copper riveting earrings

Washers ready to be riveted with handmade silver rivets – the film is trapped between the washers.

Riveting copper washers

Riveted ! The film was then cut around the edge using scalpel.

After messing up the top hole on one of the earrings I had the idea of riveting a bail to the top of the earrings to hide my mistake (always have a plan b ;-)

After messing up the top hole on one of the earrings I had the idea of riveting a bail to the top of the earrings to hide my mistake (always have a plan b 😉

The bail has a balled end ear wire threaded through it.

The bail has a balled end ear wire threaded through it.

step by step riveted earrings

The ear wires were then bent and hammered. My film was of ships but on their sides looked more like designs.

You could use negatives of past memories or colour slides – I’m itching to try this again with pieces of vintage tin boxes.  I don’t know how well the film will react to sunlight and you would of course have to be careful with them but aren’t they cute ?

Riveting is a brilliant technique to learn and can be used in lots of ways within jewellery – joining pieces together than maybe can’t be soldered, using them for decoration and texture, making bails for pendants or glass – Have a look at our riveting workshop and FaceBook page for more examples.

Leave a Reply

