Circles & Domes Earrings – Step by Step How they were made & Strange Foot Prints

Winter is usually our quiet time as we cut back running workshops and after Christmas website business is slow so I have no excuse for not posting more here.

In an effort to make up for this here are the photos I took whilst making these earrings.

Handmade Silver Earrings - £25

Handmade Silver Earrings – £25

Circles cut from sterling silver sheet using my new disc cutter

Circles cut from sterling silver sheet using my new disc cutter

Step 2 - Circles and dots stamped on all the discs

Step 2 – Circles and dots stamped on all the discs

Step 3 - I annealed the discs to make them easier to dome

Step 3 – I annealed the discs to make them easier to dome

doming punch

Step 4 – I domed the discs using a steel doming block and punch

domed silver discs for earrings

All the discs have been domed now

Step 5 - I soldered ear wires onto the backs of the larger discs and balled the ends of short wires to connect the discs

Step 5 – I soldered ear wires onto the backs of the larger discs and balled the ends of short wires to connect the discs

step by step earrings

Step 6 – I used the balled wires to connect the two discs then balled the other end of the wire

Unexpected Step 7 !  After pickling and polishing I decided the earrings were too long with the balled links so I removed the links and added jump rings instead - Lovely light earrings with lots of movement !

Unexpected Step 7 ! After pickling and polishing I decided the earrings were too long with the balled links so I removed the links and added jump rings instead – Lovely light earrings with lots of movement !

Strange Foot Prints

Yesterday we had snow and my new routine of walking Choo Choo each morning means that I see more of our beautiful countryside than ever before.  Yesterday I came across these foot prints

Footprints3

Possibly bear 🙂

Footprints2

These look like cute little flowers

Footprints1

Not great detail but perfectly spaced

We have so may wild and domestic animals around us (but no bears honest 😉 so if anyone has their tracking badge from scouts and knows what left these tracks we’d love to know.  If I find some better prints to photo I’ll try etching them onto a ring.

Latest Jewellery Making Workshop Photos – January 2015 Silversmithing, Riveting, Etching & More – Isabella

Isabella joined us for a 3 day, one to one workshop. She is a sculptor creating beautiful small sculptures. She wanted to explore jewellery making techniques and especially soldering to use in her work. Although she was more interested in learning techniques than making items of jewellery you can see that she made a lot of beautiful pieces whilst she was with us.

Group

And Finally….

We have 2 more rescue kittens, one Tim found just before Christmas (an early Christmas present for me), she’s called Dora (after Dora the Explorer – not so clever as she is now living up to her name).  She was painfully thin when she arrived but is now a perfect, fat little kitten.

Ginger cats and Dora

Here she is being cleaned by Nibblet, one of our older rescue cats.

Then just before my Birthday Tim came home with Annie (from Anniversaire 😉 who is having a harder time getting well so fingers crossed I will have good news and photos of her soon.

Leave a Reply

