A Setting A Day – Day 1 – Cute Prong Set Turquoise Ring

Last week I set myself the challenge of making a piece of jewellery every day that incorporated a stone – there are lots of ways you can include semi-precious stones  and pearls in your jewellery and I’m going to show you just a few of them.

Prong Set Turquoise Ring

prong setting class course workshop

I bought a string of really nice genuine turquoise nuggets a while ago and thought that I could set one onto a ring (this setting doesn’t use the holes in the bead).  I started by making a silver wire ring.

handmade silver turquoise ring prong set

For the setting I balled the ends of 2 pieces of silver wire and placed them to form a cross then soldered them together.  (I used some copper wire to estimate the length of wire needed to set the stone.

prong set ring turquoise handmade silverThen soldered the cross onto the ring.  The ring was then pickled and polished.

claw setting turquoise nuggetI used a burnisher to push the prongs over the turquoise but you can use the back of your chain nose pliers if you don’t have a burnisher.

This is just one of the new projects you can choose on our 3 Day Introduction to Silversmithing  and Stone Setting Workshops.

Pop back tomorow for a different stone setting technique or better still follow my blog for automatic updates (see Follow Blog via Email in the right margin).

3 responses to “A Setting A Day – Day 1 – Cute Prong Set Turquoise Ring

  1. Pingback: A Setting A Day – Day 5 – Fab Sea Glass Rings ! | La Vidalerie

  2. Pingback: A Setting A Day – Day 6 – Setting Half Drilled Pearls | La Vidalerie

  3. Pingback: A Setting A Day – Day 7 – Riveted or Wrapped ! Two ways to make this turquoise ring. | La Vidalerie

Leave a comment