Making Lemonade – Or Not Wasting Beautiful Stones

A while ago I ordered some specially drilled semi-precious cabochons for a particular project, unfortunately they all arrived with damage around the large drilled holes.  The supplier kindly sent replacements but it kept bothering me that the original very beautiful, but damaged, stones were sitting sadly in their box. Here’s one of the labradorites.

20170130_104932

I thought I could rivet on a large bail to hide the damage whilst still showing off the beautiful flash (the thickness of the stone made it a bit awkward too).

20170130_110448

I cut 2 silver discs, rolled them to make ovals and added a spiral texture and oxidized them.

I riveted the discs together so the stone is able to swing and a silk or chain can be threaded through the top.

Not perfect but not bad for a stone that was too good for the bin and too damaged to use.

Let me know your ideas for a stone like this ?

Leave a comment